top of page

MSPC Board of Directors elects new leadership

Consistent with the requirements in its bylaws, the Board of Directors of the nation’s fastest-growing free market think tank has elected new leadership. Julie Shiflett of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, has been selected by her colleagues to serve as Chair of Mountain States Policy Center for a two-year term beginning on January 1, 2024. John S. Otter of Boise has been elected Vice Chair for the same term. “I am humbled to be able to lead our great board and advance the mission of MSPC, putting Free Markets First and facts at the center of our public policy debates,” Shiflett said. Ken Dey of Boise served as MSPC’s first-ever Chairman. His term expires on December 31st. “It has been the honor of a lifetime to help start and lead the board of a new free market think tank,” Dey said. “I know MSPC is well- positioned for success for many years to come.” MSPC’s new leadership team for the 2024-2025 term includes:

  • Julie Shiflett, Chair

  • John S. Otter, Vice Chair

  • William Junkermier, Treasurer

  • Brittany Gautreau, Secretary

  • Chris Cargill, President

Twelve other leaders from across the Mountain States serve on the MSPC Board of Directors. Members serve a staggered four-year term on the board, while leadership is elected every two years. A complete list of board members is available at

Current board members Dey, Rebecca Funk and Oscar Evans will transition off the board December 31st. New board members will be elected by the Board of Directors this winter.

Mountain States Policy Center is a non-profit, non-partisan research center that provides free market solutions to successfully grow the region. It concentrates its work in Idaho, Eastern Washington, Montana and Wyoming – one of the first organizations of its kind to cover multiple states. MSPC’s mission is to empower those in the Mountain States to succeed through non-partisan, quality research that promotes free enterprise, individual liberty and limited government.

bottom of page